The Opera #1 – #3

Novoflot

The Opera #2 – On the Ropes (About the End)

After motives from Monteverdi’s »L’incoronazione di Poppea«

World Premiere at the Kunstfest Weimar September 11 and 12, 2020
Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar, main stage

 

The Berlin opera company NOVOFLOT is developing a three-part cycle with the modest aim of triggering a genre “reboot.” DEUTSCHE BÜHNE magazine described last year’s Kunstfest Weimar premiere of the co-production’s first installation as “a wonderfully inquiring, probing, searching production.”

In this trilogy, based on exploring the work of opera’s “founding father,” Claudio Monteverdi, the artist collective reflects on what path the genre might have taken had more works by the master from Mantua survived – a mere three operas have been preserved, the majority of his œuvre remains lost. Novoflot examines the existing material and asks how differently opera might look and sound today.

Having used “Orfeo” as a sound source to generate a “big bang” of the history of opera in the first part of the cycle, the company will now inspect Monteverdi’s last opera “The incoronation of Poppea” in The Opera #2. This is meant in the truest sense of the word, as NOVOFLOT explores the work by touring the Weimar National Theatre, on an expedition to follow the traces left by rare fragments of undiscovered Monteverdi operas.

A number of internationally renowned jazz soloists will be joined this year by a string orchestra from the Staatskapelle Weimar.

With: Antonis Anissegos (Keyboards), Hayden Chisholm (Saxophone, Voice), Chris Dahlgren (Double-Bass, Voice), Elisa Fluch (Voice) Ichi Go (Dance), Rosemary Hardy (Voice, Actress), Almut Kühne (Voice), Kathrin Pechlof (Harp), Eric Schaefer (Percussion) as well as members from the Staatskapelle Weimar

Kunstfest Weimar / September 11 and 12, 2020
World Premiere: September 11, 7.30 pm / Second performance: September 12, 6.00 pm
Deutsches National Theater, main stage

A production by Novoflot, Deutsches Nationaltheater & Staatskapelle Weimar and Kunstfest Weimar
Co-production: CPH Opera Festival and Teater Undergrunden

Funded by Berlin Senat Department for Culture and Europe and the Federal Foundation of Culture FONDS DOPPELPASS – Theatre cooperation fund

The Opera #1 – At the Circle (To Start With)

After motives from Monteverdi’s “Orfeo”

World Premiere by Kunstfest Weimar 23 – 25 August 2019
by BAM Festival, Berlin 29 September 2019 

The defining character of modern opera contradicts the original intention of its creator, namely to revitalise the ideals of antiquity. At the end of the 16th century, Europe’s bourgeoisie redefined the newly created genre: whatever insights were gained about love, murder and manslaughter were sacrificed by the absolute desire for representation. An irreversible coincidence of music history? The Berlin opera company Novoflot is of a different opinion. In a planned three-year trilogy entitled «The Opera #1 – #3», it looks back at the birth of opera 400 years ago and its founding father, the composer Claudio Monteverdi. When audiences rediscovered Monteverdi in the 20th century, scholars found out that 15 of his operas no longer exist, and their whereabouts are still unknown today. With «The Opera #1 – #3», Novoflot and their coproducers will celebrate the imagined rediscovery of these lost opera works over the next three festival editions and creatively reinterpret the facts that lie at the beginning of operatic history. The project takes Monteverdi’s three known works, and fills in the missing pieces one by one. The production begins with «The Opera #1» featuring a large-scale recitative and singing chorus, solo vocalists, dancers, actors and an instrumental ensemble based on themes from Monteverdi’s «Orfeo». The performance comprises two parts: the first is a choral intervention to be performed at various public squares in town (Theaterplatz, Herderplatz etc.), and the second part will be a performance staged at the E-Werk. Both parts can be attended separately and in any order.

With: Raphael Clamer, Rafal Dziemidok, Ichi Go, Yuka Yanagihara, Antonis Anissegos, Hayden Chisholm, Chris Dahlgren, Eric Schaefer, Nils Wogram, Girls choir of Singakademie zu Berlin

Kunstfest Weimar /  23 – 25 August 2019
Choir intervention (overture) in public space Weimar /  23, 24 August from 3 PM. 25 August from 2 PM. Free entry
World premiere in E Werk / 23, 24 August at 8 PM. 25 August at 7 PM
Tickets under
www.kunstfest-weimar.de

BAM Festival / 29 September 2019
Choir intervention (overture) in public space, Square in front of Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz  /  3 PM – 6 PM. Free entry
World premiere in St. Elisabeth Kirche, Invalidenstarße 3 / 6.30 PM
bam-berlin.org

Funded by Berlin Senat Department for Culture and  Europe and the Federal Foundation of Culture FONDS DOPPELPASS – Theatre cooperation fund

Die Oper #1 – #3

NOVOFLOT

Die Oper #2 – In den Seilen (Vom Ende)

Nach Motiven aus Monteverdis »L’incoronazione di Poppea«

Uraufführung beim Kunstfest Weimar 11. und 12. September 2020
Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar, Großes Haus

 

Die Berliner Opernkompanie NOVOFLOT entwickelt einen dreiteiligen Zyklus mit keinem geringeren Ziel, als den Neustart des Genres auszurufen. Als einen »wundervoll fragenden, tastenden, suchenden Abend« beschrieb die DEUTSCHE BÜHNE die Uraufführung des ersten Teils der Koproduktion im Rahmen des KUNSTFEST WEIMAR 2019.

Ausgehend von der Beschäftigung mit dem Werk von Claudio Monteverdi, dem »Gründungsvater« des Genres Oper, denkt das Künstlerkollektiv in dieser Trilogie darüber nach, welche andere Entwicklung die Gattung hätte nehmen können, wären weitere Werke des Meisters aus Mantua erhalten geblieben – denn der Großteil seines Oeuvres bleibt verschollen, nur drei Werke sind überliefert. NOVOFLOT untersucht dieses vorhandene Material und fragt sich und uns: Wie könnte die Oper heute anders aussehen oder klingen?

Nachdem die Kompanie im ersten Teil des Zyklus »Orfeo« als Klangquelle zur Erzeugung eines „Big Bang“ der Operngeschichte verwendete, besichtigt sie in »Die Oper #2« Monteverdis letzte Oper »Die Krönung der Poppea«. Und zwar im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes, denn NOVOFLOT erforscht das Werk in einem Rundgang durch das Nationaltheater und folgt bei dieser Opernexpedition konkreten Hinweisen auf Fragmente bisher unentdeckter Monteverdi-Opern. Neben einem Streicherensemble der STAATSKAPELLE WEIMAR wird erneut eine Auswahl von international bekannten Jazzsolisten*innen dabei sein. 

Mit: Antonis Anissegos (Tasten), Hayden Chisholm (Saxophon, Gesang), Chris Dahlgren (Kontrabass, Gesang), Elisa Fluch (Gesang), Ichi Go (Tanz), Rosemary Hardy (Gesang, Schauspiel), Almut Kühne (Gesang), Kathrin Pechlof (Harfe), Eric Schaefer (Schlagzeug) sowie Mitglieder der Staatskapelle Weimar

Kunstfest Weimar 11. und 12. September 2020
Uraufführung: Fr. 11. September, 19.30 Uhr / weitere Vorstellung:  Sa. 12. September, 18.00 Uhr
DNT Weimar, Großes Haus

Eine Produktion von Novoflot, Deutsches Nationaltheater & Staatskapelle Weimar und Kunstfest Weimar
Koproduktion: CPH Opera Festival und Teater Undergrunden

Gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung Kultur und Europa Berlin und die Kulturstiftung des Bundes im FONDS DOPPELPASS – Fonds für Kooperation im Theater

Die Oper #1 – Am Kreis (Für den Anfang)

Nach Motiven aus Monteverdis »Orfeo«

Uraufführung beim Kunstfest Weimar 23. – 25. August 2019
beim BAM Festival, Berlin 29. September 2019 

Was die Oper heute auszeichnet, widerspricht dem Ziel ihres Erfinders: eine Wiederbelebung der antiken Ideale. Schon Ende des 16. Jahrhunderts deutete die Bourgeoisie Europas die neu geschaffene Gattung um: Der Erkenntnisgewinn wurde dem unbedingten Willen zur Repräsentation geopfert. Ein unumkehrbarer Zufall der Musikgeschichte? Die Berliner Opernkompanie Novoflot ist anderer Ansicht und wirft in ihrer auf drei Jahre angelegten Trilogie »Die Oper #1 – #3« den Blick zurück auf die über 400 Jahre zurückliegende Geburtsstunde der Oper und auf ihren Gründungsvater, Claudio Monteverdi. Ohne ihn wäre die Gattung nicht zu denken. Als man Monteverdi im 20. Jahrhundert wiederentdeckte, wurde festgestellt, dass 15 Opern fehlen. Mit »Die Oper #1 – #3« feiern Novoflot, Kunstfest Weimar, DNT, Copenhagen Opera Festival und Teater Undergrunden über die nächsten drei Festivaleditionen die imaginäre Wiederentdeckung dieser verschollenen Bühnenwerke und schreiben unter kreativer Neubewertung der Faktenlage den Beginn der Operngeschichte neu. Hierbei dienen die drei bekannten Werke Monteverdis als ein lückenhaftes Puzzle, in das die fehlenden Elemente nach und nach eingesetzt werden. Den Beginn macht »Die Oper #1« für großen sprechenden und singenden Chor, Gesangssolist*innen, Tänzer* innen, Schauspieler*innen und Instrumentalensemble nach Motiven aus Monteverdis »Orfeo«. Die Aufführung wird aus zwei Teilen bestehen: Der erste Teil ist eine chorische Intervention, die auf verschiedenen Plätzen Weimars (Theaterplatz, Herderplatz u. a.) stattfindet. Der zweite Teil ist eine abendliche Aufführung im E-Werk. Die beiden Teile können unabhängig voneinander besucht werden.

Mit: Raphael Clamer, Rafal Dziemidok, Ichi Go, Yuka Yanagihara, Antonis Anissegos, Hayden Chisholm, Chris Dahlgren, Eric Schaefer, Nils Wogram, Mädchenchor der Singakademie zu Berlin

Kunstfest Weimar / 23. – 25. August 2019
Chorische Intervention (Ouvertüre) im öffentlichen Raum Weimar / 23., 24. August ab 15.00 Uhr. 25. August ab 14.00. Freier Eintritt
Uraufführung im E Werk / 23., 24. August 20.00 Uhr. 25. August 19.00 Uhr
Karten unter
www.kunstfest-weimar.de

BAM Festival Berlin / 29. September 2019
Chorische Intervention (Ouvertüre) im Stadtraum, Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz – Vorplatz / 15.00 – 18.00 Uhr. Freier Eintritt
Uraufführung, St. Elisabeth Kirche, Invalidenstraße 3 / 18.30 Uhr
bam-berlin.org

Gefördert durch die Senatsverwaltung Kultur und Europa Berlin und die Kulturstiftung des Bundes im FONDS DOPPELPASS – Fonds für Kooperation im Theater