ABOUT NOVOFLOT

NOVOFLOT is an independent opera company based in Berlin. It was founded in 2002 by director Sven Holm, conductor Vicente Larrañaga and performance artist and dramaturge Sebastian Bark. The team’s productions of Ernst Krenek’s The Belltower and Tommaso Traetta’s Antigona received widespread attention and recognition.

For Kommander Kobayashi 1 – 3, a new format the Opera Saga was developed – focussing on new ways of production and innovative concepts in music-theatre. Kommander Kobayashi, the title figure and his crew embark on a journey into unknown regions – an odyssey set to music in a series of creations by international composers. The format thus also highlights the hybrid universe of contemporary opera. Between January 2005 and september 2007, a total of ten operas were composed for Kommander Kobayashi, performed in three seasons in Hamburg, Berlin, Warsaw, Luxemburg and Budapest.  

Entitled HOW WE FEEL #1 – #3 NOVOFLOT created a three-part series on affects in the opera. The first part – adressing fear – was Scream Queen, followed by #2 Exhaustion and #3 Happiness.

In December 2009, NOVOFLOT produced and performed a theatrical version of Bach’s Christmas Oratorio and in December 2011 followed the next production Parisian Life, both at Radialsystem ·V· Berlin. 

At Haus der Berliner Festspiele NOVOFLOT created a new production named The Castle – A Winter Journey (based on the novel by Franz Kafka). In co-production with the Berlin-based arts institutions Hamburger Bahnhof, Akademie der Künste, Radialsystem and Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz the futuristic opera The Victory over the Sun I – V premiered in October 2013.

Since 2014 took place the project The T-House-Tour #1 – #8 in cooperation with Volksbühne, Radialsystem and Akademie der Künste. The T-House-Tour is an improvisational work in progress about presentation formats of musical theatre that do not depend on the organizational and spatial circumstances of a single institution, but adapt to where they appear. Other stations of the project included the Schauspielhaus and Walcheturm in Zurich (2018) as well as Matucana 100 in Santiago de Chile and the Parque Cultural in Valparaíso (March 2019).

The following production was Nationaloper #1 – #3 in co-operation with Radialsystem V and Volksbühne am Rosa Luxemburg Platz. After that The Grand Coalition took place in co-operation with Gare du Nord, Klang Basel and Radialsystem.

In April and September 2017 followed the production The Bible (in translation of NOVOFLOT) #1 – #3 in cooperation with Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz and Radialsyem V. In October 2018 The Song of the earth after Gustav Mahler was performed at Theater im Delphi and in February 2019 a restage of The Bible (in translation of NOVOFLOT) #1 The Scream was shown in front of Berlin’s Memorial Church (Berlin Gedächtniskirche).

In August 2019 the trilogy The Opera #1 – #3 started with the world premiere of #1- At the Circle (for the beginning) in co-production with Kunstfest Weimar, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar and CPH Opera Festival Copenhagen. In 2020 #2 On the ropes (about the end) followed, and in 2021 the trilogy will conclude with #3 The outtakes.

In October 2019 was performed Dimensions Variable at the Haus der Statistik in Berlin.

In 2020, the trilogy We’ll take the liberty #1-#3 was created for the occasion of the 250th birthday of Ludwig van Beethoven. The premiere of #1 Fidelio, which was to take place in March 2020 at the Akademie der Künste Berlin, unfortunately had to be cancelled due to the Covid 19 pandemic. #2 ∞ – Ma non troppo was premiered on October 12th, 2020 in front of the Kölner Philharmonie, followed by #3 The 10th Symphony on October 14th, 2020 at the Kölner Philharmonie (Cologne Concert Hall).

In 2014 NOVOFLOT were awarded with the George Tabori Prize. 

In 2018, the book “Novoflot – The 15th Season” was published by Theater der Zeit.

Current productions and performances:  We’ll take the liberty #1 Fidelio (World premiere, May 2021), #2 ∞ – Ma non troppo and #3 The 10th Symphony (Berlin premiere, June-Juli 2021), The opera #1 – At the circle (to start with) and The opera #2 – On the ropes (about the end) (CPH Copenhagen Opera Festival, August 2021), The opera #3 – The outtakes (World premiere, Kunstfest Weimar, September 2021). 

NOVOFLOT’s production and performance venues have been Hamburg State Opera, Ultraschall festival, the festival Warsaw Autumn, Théâtre National du Luxembourg, Trafó in Budapest, Transmediale, Haus der Berliner Festspiele, Hamburger Bahnhof, Akademie der Künste, Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz and Gare du Nord Basel, Walcheturm Zürich and the Schauspielhaus Zürich/Schiffbauplatz, Matucana 100 in Santiago de Chile, Parque Cultural de Valparaíso, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar, Haus der Statistik Berlin as well as Kölner Philharmonie.

Team members: Dörte Wolter (company manager and head of production), Malte Ubenauf (dramaturgy), Miriam Glöckler (production manager), Thorsten Cölle (artistic production manager), Heike Diehm k3 berlin (press & public relations), Elisa Limberg / Graft Architects (stage design), Mirko Borscht (film), Nina von Mechow (costume), Philip Kießling (video), Emanuel Tschumi (graphic design), Tina Agency (Tour Management) amomg others.

Video-Trailer2014
T
railer to the George-Tabori-Award – NOVOFLOT 2014

ÜBER NOVOFLOT

NOVOFLOT ist eine freie Opernkompanie in Berlin. Sie wurde 2002 von dem Regisseur Sven Holm, dem Dirigenten Vicente Larrañaga und dem Performancekünstler und Dramaturgen Sebastian Bark gegründet.

Zunächst hat das Team mit den Inszenierungen von Ernst Kreneks Glockenturm und Tommaso Traettas Antigone in den Sophiensælen von sich reden gemacht. Für die Opernsaga Kommander Kobayashi 1-3 entwickelte NOVOFLOT ein Format, mit dem neue Produktionswege und Konzepte für die zeitgenössische Oper gesucht und getestet wurden: In einer Serie von Auftragswerken verschiedener internationaler Komponisten entfaltet sich die Odyssee des Kommander Kobayashi durch unbekannte wie nahe liegende Welten – zugleich eine Reise in das hybride Universum zeitgenössischer Oper. Insgesamt wurden für Kommander Kobayashi zehn Opern komponiert und in drei Staffeln zwischen 2005 und 2007 in Hamburg, Berlin, Warschau, Luxemburg und Budapest uraufgeführt.

Unter dem Titel WAS WIR FÜHLEN #1 -#3 arbeitete NOVOFLOT zwischen 2008 und 2011 an einer dreiteiligen Reihe zu den Affekten in der Oper. Der erste Teil widmete sich unter dem Titel Scream Queen der Angst, danach folgten die Uraufführung von #2 Erschöpfung und #3 Glück.

Die nächsten Aufführungen entstanden im Radialsystem: zunächst 2009 eine szenische Aufführung von Bachs Weihnachtsoratorium, mit Pariser Leben folgte 2011 die nächste Produktion. 

Im Haus der Berliner Festspiele entstand 2013 die Uraufführung Das Schloss nach Franz Kafka. Im selben Jahr wurde in Koproduktion mit dem Hamburger Bahnhof, der Akademie der Künste, dem Radialsystem und der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz die futuristische Oper Der Sieg über die Sonne I – V uraufgeführt. 

Seit 2014 fand das Projekt T-House-Tour #1–#8 in Kooperation mit der Volksbühne, dem Radialsystem und der Akademie der Künste statt. Die T-House-Tour ist ein auf Improvisation basierendes Work in Progress zu musiktheatralen Präsentationsformen, die nicht auf die organisatorischen und räumlichen Bedingungen einer einzelnen Institution reagieren, sondern sich, je nachdem, wo sie in Erscheinung treten, verwandeln. Weitere Stationen des Projekts waren u.a. das Schauspielhaus und Walcheturm Zürich sowie das Matucana 100 in Santiago de Chile und der Parque Cultural in Valparaíso.

Parallel dazu entwickelte Novoflot das Projekt Nationaloper #1 – #3 in Kooperation mit dem Radialsystem und der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz. 2016 war DIE GROSSE KOALITION zu Gast bei Klang Basel im Gare du Nord, gefolgt von Aufführungen im Radialsystem.

2017 fand die Produktion Die Bibel (in der Übersetzung von NOVOFLOT) #1 – #3 in Kooperation mit der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz und dem Radialsystem statt. 2018 war Das Lied von Erde nach Gustav Mahler im Theater im Delphi zu sehen. 2019 wurde Die Bibel (in der Übersetzung von NOVOFLOT) #1 Der Schrei  vor der Berliner Gedächtniskirche erneut gezeigt.

Im August 2019 startete die Trilogie Die Oper #1–#3 mit der Uraufführung von #1 Am Kreis (Für den Anfang) in Koproduktion mit Kunstfest Weimar, Deutsches Nationaltheater Weimar und CPH Opera Festival Kopenhagen. 2020 folgt #2 In den Seilen (Vom Ende), 2021 #3 Die Outtakes.

Im Oktober 2019 war im Berliner Haus der Statistik Ausbreitung Variabel zu sehen.

Der erste Teil des dreiteiligen Beethoven-Zyklus Wir sind so frei #1 Fidelio, der im März 2020 in der Akademie der Künste Berlin gezeigt werden sollte, musste wegen der Covid-19-Pandemie leider abgesagt werden. Die Premiere wird jedoch am 17. Dezember 2020 (Beethovens 250. Geburtstag!) nachgeholt. Für die Kölner Philharmonie entstehen derzeit #2 ∞ Ma non troppo, Premiere am 12. Oktober 2020 vor der Kölner Philharmonie, sowie #3 Die 10. Sinfonie, Premiere am 14. Oktober 2020 in der Kölner Philharmonie.

2014 wurden NOVOFLOT mit dem George Tabori Preis ausgezeichnet. 

2018 erschien im Verlag Theater der Zeit das Buch „Novoflot – Die 15. Spielzeit“.

Produktions- und Spielorte von NOVOFLOT waren u.a. die Hamburgische Staatsoper, das Ultraschall Festival, das Festival Warschauer Herbst / Teatr Wielki, das Théâtre National du Luxembourg, das Trafó in Budapest, die Transmediale, das Radialsystem, die Berliner Sophiensæle, das Haus der Berliner Festspiele, der Hamburger Bahnhof, die Akademie der Künste, die Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz und Gare du Nord Basel, Walcheturm Zürich und das Schauspielhaus Zürich/Schiffbauplatz, Matucana 100 in Santiago de Chile, Parque Cultural de Valparaíso, Nationaltheater Weimar sowie das Haus der Statistik.

Im Team: Dörte Wolter (Company-Management und Produktionsleitung), Malte Ubenauf (Dramaturgie), Miriam Glöckler (Produktionsleitung), Thorsten Cölle (Künstlerische Produktionsleitung), Heike Diehm k3 berlin (Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit), Elisa Limberg / Graft Architekten (Bühne) / Nina von Mechow (Ausstattung), Mirko Borscht (Film), , Philip Kießling (Video), Emanuel Tschumi (Grafikdesign) und andere.

Video-Trailer2014
T
railer zur George-Tabori-Preis NOVOFLOT 2014