We‘ll take the liberty #1 – #3



For Ludwig van Beethoven – by Novoflot

#1 Fidelio / Large exhibition hall at the Akademie der Künste Berlin, Hanseatenweg, Premiere 14 March 2020
Due to the threat of the corona virus, the premiere and further performances in March had to be cancelled. The premiere will be made up for on 17 December 2020. Further performances will take place on 18-20 December. . 

#2 The 10th Symphony / Kölner Philharmonie, Premiere 14 October 2020
#3 ∞ – Ma non troppo / Theater im Delphi, Spring 2021

Between opera and piano concert, music-theatrical exhibition and symphony, philharmonic exploration of space and newly composed music, Novoflot’s new trilogy is being created. A wide variety of instrumental ensembles, singers and performers will consistently think about further aspects of Ludwig van Beethoven’s idiosyncratic compositional practice and explore them scenically in extreme spatial arrangements. Beethoven’s curiosity about the contradictory serves as a decisive driving force here! We are so free #1 – #3 is a contemplation of 250 years of the most violent impact of a singular musical œuvre on contemporary art and the present of art.

We’ll take the liberty #1 Fidelio

In the first part of the new trilogy, Novoflot makes Beethoven’s Fidelio sound like an echo of a liberty opera. In an exhibition performance for trumpet, sound installation, keys and voices, the achievements of the French Revolution appear as long forgotten attributes in the midst of a stele field of acoustic sources and artefacts.
The trumpet signal, once the salutary musicalized message of the supposed happy end, is the cornerstone of an experimental arrangement for the trumpeter Damir Bacikin, who, together with an ensemble of performers in the white cube, explores the utopian potential of opera as well as Beethoven’s musical-dramaturgical process of discovery. In the process, the opera’s protagonists sound as voices from the beyond, which the composer and pianist Antonis Anissegos transforms into a kaleidoscope of sound, original music and new composition.
Variable duration, free access.

We’ll take the liberty #1 Fidelio in co-production with Akademie der Künste Berlin by Labor Beethoven 2020 – Festival of contemporary music Musik for the Beethoven anniversary


Premiere: 14 March 2020.  
New Dates!!: Premiere 17 December 2020. More performances 18, 19 and 20  December 2020 each 5 – 9 PM

With: Antonis Anissegos (Keyboards und composition), Damir Bacikin (Trumpet)
Rebecca von Lipinski, Narine Yeghiyan, Florian Hoffmann, Antony Shelley (voices from the beyond/sound installation)
Konstantin Bez, Almut Kühne among others

A project within the framework of BTHVN2020. Funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media and the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

#2 The 10th Symphony – by Novoflot, L. v. Beethoven and Michael Wertmüller

The 10th Symphony conceives Novoflot as a musical theater for the Cologne Philharmonic Hall, spanning a musical arc from Beethoven’s late string quartets to excerpts from op. 125, fragments of the 10th Symphony and world premiere compositions by Michael Wertmüller. In a tour of the foyers, floors and hall of the Cologne Philharmonic Hall, the Berlin Opera Company develops a scenic walk through the stage that resembles an exploration of the open structures of a work not yet completed. The 10th symphony is based on a libretto by the Berlin author Gesine Danckwart.
At the end of 2020 the production will also be shown in Berlin.

#2 The 10th Symphony – by Novoflot, L. v. Beethoven and Michael Wertmüller – in collaboration with Kölner Philharmonie (Cologne Philharmonic Hall)

Premiere: 14 October 2020

A project within the framework of BTHVN2020. Funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media, the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Rhein-Sieg-Kreis and the City of Bonn.