The T-House-Tour #1 – #6

 

NOVOFLOT

THE T-HOUSE TOUR By NOVOFLOT

During the summer, German-speaking theaters stay closed for almost two months. This practice is of course considered acceptable, because despite signs to the contrary, the belief that the institutional theater operations will begin again at the end of the summer is unwavering. But what would happen if the subsidized cultural institutions were to disappear from the societal map one by one? If we broke with the particularly German tradition of state-funded art, music, literature and theater invention and the states and local governments left the field (and their houses) exclusively to commercially interested parties? Purely a vision of the distant future? Hardly: not a day goes by without reports about the imminent closure of a cultural institution. Questions about the future of institutional cultural establishments are not new. And yet little thought is put into models of prospective, non-stationary cultural proposals beyond festivals and guest performances.

With their new project T-HOUSE TOUR the Berlin opera company Novoflot is attempting a pilot exercise of possible forms and structures of musical theater in motion. The T-HOUSE TOUR is not a production in the strict sense of the word. It is an improvisational work in progress about forms of musical theater that do not depend on the organizational and spatial circumstances of a single institution, but adapt to where they appear.

#6: May 27th-29th 2016, Performing Arts Festival Berlin
Friday 27th May,  5-8 PM, Uferstudios, Uferstr. 8/23, 13357 Berlin
Saturday 28th Myi, 6-8 PM, Radialsystem V, Holzmarktstr. 33, 10243 Berlin
Sunday 29th May, 6-9 PM, Prachttomate Garten-Neukölln, Kienitzer Str. 9, 12053 Berlin

#1 Tour Opening: September 6th 2014 at 8:00 PM, Radialsystem V
# 2: October 16th-19th 2014, Square in front of the pavilion, Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz
# 3: December 20th 2014, public film shooting, Berlin Alt-Marzahn
# 4: January 16th-18th 2015 at 7:00 PM, Akademie der Künste am Pariser Platz 
# 5: January 30th, 31st and February 1st 2015 at 8:00 PM, Radialsystem V

www.t-house-tour.de


featuring
Conny Bauer and Nils Wogram (trombone) | Lucas Niggli (drums) | Ernst Surberg (piano) | Saadet Türköz (vocals) | Wu Wei (sheng) | Michael Wertmüller (composition) | Raphael Clamer, Ichi Go, Varia Linnéa Sjöström and Yuka Yanagihara Hayden Chisholm (saxophon) | Joe Sachse (guitar) und John Schröder (guitar / drums / e-bass) | Claudio Puntin (clarinet) | Chris Dahlgren (double bass) | Eric Schaefer (drums)  | ensemble mosaik | Henriette Bothe, Liz Schmidt, Johanna Skirecki and Renate Sörensen | Maxime Barbasetti | Tara Bacia and Lilly Janz as well as Köpenick’s Wind Orchestra.

In Co-production with Radialsystem, Akademie der Künste and Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz.


Funded by the Governing Mayor of Berlin – the Senatskanzlei – Cultural Affairs, the Capital Cultural Fund, the Schering Foundation and Pro Helvetia, Swiss Arts Council

Die T-House-Tour

NOVOFLOT

Die T-House Tour von NOVOFLOT

Im Sommer bleiben die deutschsprachigen Theater fast zwei Monate lang geschlossen. Natürlich ist diese Pause verkraftbar, denn obwohl sich seit vielen Jahren Gegenteiliges ankündigt, ist der Glaube daran, dass am Ende des Sommers der institutionelle Spielbetrieb aufs Neue beginnt, fast ungebrochen. Was aber geschähe, wenn in Zukunft die subventionierten Kulturinstitutionen nach und nach von der Gesellschaftskarte verschwänden? Wenn es zum Bruch käme mit den (vor allem in Deutschland gepflegten) Traditionen staatlich geförderter Kunst-, Musik-, Literatur- und Theatererfindung, und die Länder und Kommunen das Feld (und ihre Häuser) ausschließlich kommerziell ausgerichteten Interessenten überließe? Reine Zukunftsmusik? Wohl kaum: Denn kein Tag vergeht, an dem nicht von der drohenden Schließung einer Kulturinstitution berichtet wird. Die Frage nach der Zukunft des institutionellen Kulturbetriebs ist nicht neu. Und doch wird kaum über Modelle eines zukünftigen, nicht-stationären Kulturangebots abseits von Festivalangeboten und Gastspielsystemen nachgedacht. 

Mit seinem neuen Projekt T-HOUSE TOUR unternimmt die Berliner Opernkompanie Novoflot einen Pilotversuch zu möglichen Formen und Strukturen eines Musiktheaters in Bewegung. Die T-HOUSE TOUR ist keine Inszenierung im eigentlichen Sinne. Sie ist ein auf Improvisation basierendes work in progress zu musiktheatralen Präsentationsformen, die nicht auf die organisatorischen und räumlichen Bedingungen einer einzelnen Institution reagieren, sondern sich, je nachdem, wo sie in Erscheinung treten, verwandeln.

#6: 27.-29. Mai 2016, Performing Arts Festival Berlin
Freitag 27. Mai,  17-20 Uhr, Uferstudios, Uferstr. 8/23, 13357 Berlin
Samstag 28. Mai, 18-20 Uhr, Radialsystem V, Holzmarktstr. 33, 10243 Berlin
Sonntag 29. Mai, 18-21 Uhr, Prachttomate Garten-Neukölln, Kienitzer Str. 9, 12053 Berlin

# 1 Tourauftakt: 6. September 2014, 20 Uhr, Radialsystem V
# 2: 16.-19. Oktober 2014, Platz vor dem Pavillon der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz
# 3: 20. Dezember 2014, öffentlicher Filmdreh, Berlin Alt-Marzahn
# 4: 16.-18. Januar 2015, 19:00 Uhr, Akademie der Künste am Pariser Platz 
# 5: 30., 31. Januar und 1. Februar 2015, 20:00 Uhr, Radialsystem V

www.t-house-tour.de


featuring
Conny Bauer und Nils Wogram (Posaune) | Lucas Niggli (Drums) | Ernst Surberg (Piano) | Saadet Türköz (Voices) | Wu Wei (Sheng) | Michael Wertmüller (Komposition) | Raphael Clamer, Ichi Go, Varia Linnéa Sjöström und Yuka Yanagihara | Hayden Chisholm (Saxophon) | Joe Sachse (Gitarre) John Schröder (Gitarre / Drums / E-Bass) | Claudio Puntin (Klarinette) | Chris Dahlgren | Eric Schaefer (Schlagzeug)  | ensemble mosaik | Henriette Bothe, Liz Schmidt, Johanna Skirecki und Renate Sörensen | Maxime Barbasetti | Tara Bacia und Lilly Janz sowie das Blasorchester Köpenick.

In Koproduktion mit Radialsystem, Akademie der Künste und der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz.


Gefördert aus Mitteln des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin – Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten, aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds, durch die Schering Stiftung und Pro Helvetia, Schweizer Kulturstiftung /
Die T-House-Tour #6 im Rahmen des Performing Arts Festivals wird ermöglicht durch den Wiederaufnahmefonds des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin, Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten.